Zodiac Astrology: Zodiac Signs and their Elements

Zodiac Astrology: Zodiac Signs and their Elements

Zodiacs originally derived from constellations that mapped out where the Sun travelled over the course of a year. The Zodiacs have since been divided into twelve signs, which loosely corresponded to the constellations.

Zodiac Astrology

Under Western astrology, the twelve Zodiac signs are:

  • Sagittarius (November 22nd - December 21st)
  • Capricorn (December 22nd - January 19th)
  • Aquarius (January 20th - February 18th)
  • Pisces (February 19th - March 20th)
  • Aries (March 21st - April 19th)
  • Taurus (April 20th - May 20th)
  • Gemini (May 21st - June 21st)
  • Cancer (June 22nd - July 22nd)
  • Leo (July 23rd - August 22nd)
  • Virgo (August 23rd - September 22nd)
  • Libra (September 23rd - October 23rd)
  • Scorpio (October 24th - November 21st)

The practice of Zodiacs has been around for thousands of years. Despite the stigma that is related to astrology, the concept states that these relate to human activity, meaning that signs are expected to hold certain characteristics. It is worth noting that these signs do not correspond to current astronomical constellations, however this article will refer to the dates when the Sun passed through them as they were established. This is because these dates are still used to determine astrological signs.

Zodiac Signs by Elements

In addition, these twelve signs are also sorted into for different categories. These are water, fire, wind, and air. These four elements contain three zodiac signs. 

Water - Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Fire - Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Earth - Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

Air - Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

Each of these elements reportedly contain characteristics that relate back to our human activity. Astrologists suggest water signs are connected to deep emotions, a disposition towards sensitivity, and the notion of water extends to ideas of the ocean. Fire is all about passion. They are warm, dynamic signs that thrive off inspiration. Zodiac air signs are thinkers and make decisions based upon knowledge rather than emotion. They are free spirits who communicate and analyse. Finally, the Earth sign. They are grounded, down to earth individuals, who hold a solid foundation on this earth. Together these four elements form the natural world.

Planets that guide zodiac signs

Astrology suggests that each sign has a ruling planet. This will effect how each sign is expressed, meaning when this planet is placed with the constellation, it has a powerful influence.

  • Sun - Leo
  • Moon - Cancer
  • Mercury - Gemini and Virgo
  • Venus - Taurus and Libra
  • Mars - Aries
  • Jupiter - Sagittarius
  • Saturn - Capricorn
  • Uranus - Aquarius
  • Neptune - Pisces
  • Pluto - Scorpio

Why is there a stigma attached to Astrology?

There is a lot of stigma around Astrology, but opinions vary depending on your system of belief. Due to the lack of scientific grounding, astrology is often disregarded. It is considered to be a pseudoscience as it has been unable to prove scientific value. There is also stigma for those who believe in astrology. People are often embarrassed due to the reactions they receive when they admit they're a believer in astrology. Furthermore, there have been arguments to suggest that it should be considered a spiritual belief. 

Horoscopes have also branded astrology down to a matter of 'predicting your future' when astrology is a much more complicated system that looks at the position of constellations and considers your birth chart in relation to your characteristics. A horoscope will offer an astrologers interpretation of events based upon the system of signs.

A birth chart is a system that looks at your birth date, time and the location. Once you enter this information into a birth chart, you should have a twelve sectioned chart that depict how the sky looked on the day of your birth. By looking at this, you are able to determine connections between signs, houses, and planets, to offer an interpretation as to who you are.

Chinese Zodiac Astrology

In a similar concept to Western astrology, Chinese astrology also has twelve zodiac signs. It differs because they are represented as animals rather than symbols. Instead of being grouped by weeks, they are grouped by years. It is based upon a twelve year cycle. Where Western horoscopes change, Chinese astrology is set by year. The year you were born reflects your characteristics. To give an example:


Birth Years- 1939, 1951, 1963, 1975, 1999, 2011, 2023

Personality Traits - Sensitive, civilised, judgemental, kind, and romantic. The rabbit is a tame creature that often represents hope and life.

I do hope you have enjoyed this article and hope that you will subscribe to my newsletter so you can get the latest information about all things naturally relaxing.

Stay in touch, join the Naturally Relaxing Newsletter

Newsletter Signup

Please enable the javascript to submit this form

Latest Articles

Wonders of the Natural World & Natural Landscapes

Wonders of the Natural World & Natural Landscapes

There are a number of natural wonders in the world that many of us will not get the chance to exp...
How Does Climate Change Happen and What does Climate Change Effect?

How Does Climate Change Happen and What does Climate Change Effect?

Climate change is having an effect on the world. This is not something that will happen, it is al...
Natural Remedies for Headaches, Upset Stomach and Strep Throat

Natural Remedies for Headaches, Upset Stomach and Strep Throat

A natural remedy is a natural substance that is used for medicinal purposes, whether that be ther...
Are Essential Oils Safe for Cats and Dogs?

Are Essential Oils Safe for Cats and Dogs?

Essential oils are concentrated plant extracts that have gone through the process of pressing or ...
10 Essentials for Hiking: The Ultimate Camping List

10 Essentials for Hiking: The Ultimate Camping List

Camping and hiking are a great way to become one with nature. It can benefit your state of mind a...
Nature Walks: A Guide to Taking a Walk Through Nature

Nature Walks: A Guide to Taking a Walk Through Nature

A nature walk is a walk through nature that is specifically designed to guide individuals. Most n...

© Naturally Relaxing 2021 | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy